We’ve all got those annoying friends and groups that we can’t just unfollow on Facebook for whatever reason, but we really wish would just shut up for five minutes.
Well, if people won’t stop sharing pictures of their gap year, baby, or annoying football team that’s just beaten yours, you can now temporarily unfollow them for 30 days to get them out of your hair.
Will this be something we all hate, adore, or just join that ever-expanding list Facebook updates we all hated for 48 hours, then quickly forgot about?
Product Manager Shruthi Muraleedharan explained the whole thing, which he says is all about giving you more control over your News Feed.
“By selecting Snooze in the top-right drop-down menu of a post, you won’t see content from those people, Pages or groups in your News Feed for that time period,” he said.
“Seeing too many photos of your uncle’s new cat? Is your friend tempting you with endless photos of ramen on her Japan trip? It turns out, you’re not alone.
“We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it.
“With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time.”
But wait – won’t your annoying friend know that you’ve Snoozed them, and thus quite obviously think they’re annoying? Worry not.
“The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified,” Shruthi said, reassuringly.
“You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time.”
He added that the Snooze button is all part of the whole “control your News Feed” ethos, along with the Unfollow/Hide/Report and See First buttons already rolled out over the years.